Coding · development

How to avoid duplicating your package version number using a version.py file

I thought it was rather annoying to specify the version of your package both in the tool itself and in your setup.py, so I searched the internet for solutions and below I’ll explain how I set it up.

I have a version.py file in my project folder and this is the only spot where I keep my version number, which only contains the following.

__version__ = "0.16.1"

The script itself contains the following line to import the version number, making __version__ a variable in my script where I can easily use to report (and log) the version number:

from .version import __version__

In my setup.py I have the following line, which will also make the __version__ variable available for uploading the script to Pypi:

exec(open('mypackage/version.py').read())

 

Some useful resources on how to organize package development are the following:

 

Leave a Reply

